Body Integration (oh jeebus)

The Prompt:

Body Integration This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present? (Author: Patrick Reynolds)

Oh for the love.  Just reading this prompt made me want to light a cigarette and pour a shot of vodka.  I’m afraid that this challenge has just leapt over the boundary of “Reflective” and into the realm of “New-Age Blowhard”.  I’m going to wax a bit derisive here, so if you love yoga because of the mind/body connection, or hang crystals and arrange furniture to streamline the flow of Chi in your home, you might want to find another blog, or you might find yourself meditating for my lost soul and splotched aura.

When did I feel the most integrated with my body?  Seriously?  I’m ALWAYS integrated with my body.  And I can’t believe YOU aren’t.  Waiting for that purchase from Ebay?  Your mind makes it possible to put one foot in front of the other to get to the mailbox.  Want an omelet for breakfast?  All the motor functions required to beat those eggs are made possible by your mind.  Still can’t drink tequila because of that one night spent in the tub of your sorrority house?  Yet another mind/body connection letting you know that that smell is, indeed, Cuervo.

This question isn’t a deep one, it’s fucking inane.  It’s one more ploy to get you to believe that you aren’t WELL.  That there’s a deeper meaning out there that you’re missing.  That if you’re not searching, you’re not living.  Well, in all this search for a stronger connection, what we’re really doing is succeeding in missing the simple sinews that make the larger whole.  In the end, if you reject that premise, and start with the idea that you’re already joined in the most simple and base way, you’ll see that maybe that deep meaning isn’t so deep after all; that it’s right in front of you and the interaction happens every minute of every day.

We ARE cohesive us’s.  All the time.  Every minute.  Questions like this are a waste of time.  They separate out those that don’t “get it”.  I’m here to state for the record:  There’s nothing to get.  Just DO something, anything, and you’ll see line between body and mind plain as day.

12 thoughts on “Body Integration (oh jeebus)

  1. Imma going to go slip into my lululemon meditation outfit and light a crystal for you. That is just as soon as I’m able to regain control over my physical me. Don’t worry, I feel wholeness is on the horizon, I’ll be saving you shortly.

  2. Trying to stop laughing long enough to construct this comment. Love your answer to this prompt. Please don’t quit #reverb10 – your responses are fuckin’ brilliant and honest and (from what I’ve discovered since discovering your blog through this whole process) utterly you! I’d like to think THAT is the whole point of the project.

  3. This is a fantastic response. Love the sarcasm!!! Personally, I skipped this question b/c it didn’t register with me at all. But, then again, I’m passing over a lot of them b/c its just too much for me.

  4. I love yoga AND Jim Beam. There’s room in my body to integrate BOTH! This post was so great. I have liked these prompts, because they DO make us think about shit and you you know what? You can think about them however you want… ramble, cry, loot the cellar of your dark soul or scatter flowers on some warm pumpkin bread and share the recipe. Who cares? In writing and living, it matters that we are moving.

  5. Hmmm…so now that you’ve expressed my thoughts even better than I could have, I’ve got to figure out how I’m going to bring this prompt for a landing. Thanks! Thanks a lot! (But I enjoyed the hell out of this!)

  6. Ah, now, people need patience. There are steps to understanding. Not everyone is as quick as you. Each step, each reflection lets us move. Where you are now is not where you were or where you will be. What you’ve said is true for you and for many. It does feel a little impatient, which I totally get. And, there’s a lot to be said for people taking the time to think this kind of question through for themselves. Any question can be deep when we choose to look for depth, because the question isn’t the point. But I think you know that. Thanks for blowing the lid off this aspect of the prompt – it didn’t resonate for me, either, and I was lazier in my response to that lack of spark.

Leave a Reply

