Action

The prompt:

Action When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step? (Author: Scott Belsky)

Ah you see?  This is my kind of prompt.  I’m a DO girl.  Always moving, always trying to find ways around a roadblock, and yes, always procrastinating because I’ve found something more interesting TO be doing.  I’m impatient to the nth degree, and honestly, can’t really remember the last time that I took “No” for an answer.  In my mind, there’s never an excuse for failing to get something done, and there’s ALWAYS a way that it could have gotten done more efficiently.  My husband (to my chagrin and highest level of annoyance) calls me “Princess” sometimes because I like to have my way.  In my mind, I can’t see this as a bad thing.  I like things the way I like them.  And if it’s possible, through a little bit of effort and some outside-the-box thinking to HAVE things my way, then why would I settle for less?

No, it’s not the DOING I have trouble with, it’s the narrowing down of WHAT it is I want done.  You see, EVERYTHING sounds like a great idea to me.  I’m like a kid with ADD that catches something shiny out of the corner of his eye.  Squirrel!  I have trouble narrowing the scope of the possible.  This applies to pretty much all areas of my life and is more than a little bit troublesome.  Vacation ideas?  I’ve got TONS!  So many, that we never get anywhere.  Home crafts projects?  Millions!  (and all of them in various stages of completion).  Life aspirations?  At least four….and I’m currently unemployed.  You see, anything has been possible for me for so long, that I have a glut of ideas and nothing is accomplished.  I’m a product of my culture, through and through.

So, “what’s next?” the prompt asks innocently.  “Everything!  All at once!” my brain shouts in return.  But no, this process is about revisiting, refreshing and getting rid of the schmutz that doesn’t work.  So, I suppose I’ll quit putting it off and answer the question.

To me, it’s a two-step process.

1.  Finish the things that I’ve started.  This has to be first.  If it’s not, then no one is getting Christmas presents this year, I’ll end up with a room full of wire screening, vintage picture frames and 180 grit sandpaper, there will only be 13-odd posts on this blog, I’ll remain unemployed and my one mascara’d eye will continue to make me look like Malcom McDowell in A Clockwork Orange.

2.  Make a narrow list of specific things I want to accomplish.  Let’s say 3 major and 10 minor.  I’d make that list now, but I’m already overwhelmed with the list of shit from number one.

I’d use the term “simplify” but I fear a host of “We told you so” reprisal responses from those new-agers who hated my answer yesterday.  Instead, I’m going to revise and edit, so that my life in the coming year can be a string of sanity preserving and ego-boosting successes rather than a list of half-dones and collecting-dust-in the-closets.

6 thoughts on “Action

  1. Well hello. I believe I met my long lost twin!
    So, “what’s next?” the prompt asks innocently. ”Everything! All at once!” my brain shouts in return. ~ Thats exactly what I thought!
    Im such a do-er that I have to have a fair whack at everything that crosses my path (even at the detriment to my sanity) and then bail when it gets too much because Im doing too many things and there is something more awesome coming along!

  2. I have the same thing. I call it deer in headlight syndrome. There’s so much I want to do that I end up doing either NOTHING or EVERYTHING and get nowhere!! It can be a hindrance in that way =/ and needs more structure definitely..

  3. Love this line: “going to revise and edit, so that my life in the coming year can be a string of sanity preserving and ego-boosting successes rather than a list of half-dones and collecting-dust-in the-closets.” I am so with you! My idea is to stop nagging myself about the things I don’t get done or all the ways I fall short and instead congratulate myself for what I do!

Leave a Reply

