5 Minutes

The Prompt:

Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2010 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about 2010. (Author: Patti Digh)

My toes in the sand, the glorious sand, on Bald Head Island, NC, Wrightsville and Sunset Beach, NC, Hampton Bays, NY and Mastic Beach, NY.  I don’t want to forget a single second of any of those trips I was so lucky to take this year.

The beach at Bald Head Island, NC

Drunken golf carts on Bald Head Island, NC for my birthday trip in April.

No better way to get around!

Drunken Shakespeare in the Park.  D and T paid a member of the company to read me a sonnet during intermission.  It was delightfully embarrassing.

Thai food and a hand-epoxy’d bar surface

Drunken afternoon spent at a new winery and then watching the newest installment of the Twilight saga at the theatre.  (Don’t judge me monkey.)

K.A. will kick your ass if you even try to say we ruined a perfectly good afternoon with Jacob and Edward.

Drunkenly breaking J.L’s pull-out couch with M.D at the end of a crazy evening at the Turtle.  It was really already broken, but in our stupor, we laughed and laughed, especially when we couldn’t get it to go back into the couch.

Yes, we ended up sleeping (read: passing out) on the floor. Bachelor's!

People watching at the Tiki Bar in Patchogue where we realized that the fact that you had to be 27 to get in WAS NOT as good a thing as we had anticipated.  Three cheers for old friends and being the youngest ones there by 15 years at least.

The Mystery Machine, Goonies house, a birthday Bismark, lunch at the Rogue Brewery and marauding the town of Astoria, OR with D.E who stands by my side stalwartly despite the mistakes I make.

A perfect girls' weekend for two.

The return of Safety Meetings after a four year hiatus.

Pravda; a fantastic vodka bar in Wilmington, NC

Cabaret Burlesque; such a great show!

Is it fuzzy because I'm artsy?

“I fell off my shoes!”

Platform sandals + Whiskey + Sidewalk planters = Face plant and road rash

The punch that broke my camera.  Someone pulled up my dress (twice) on Hallowe’en and I had my camera in my punching hand.  RIP.

Caffe Lena with my Dad

The sound of my Dad's acoustic guitar means HOME to me.

Catch up beers at the Monopole in Plattsburgh, NY and the sudden rainstorm that soaked us all later that night at the Naked Turtle.

Laughing until my stomach hurt with my mother when I almost rolled off the 50 year old double mattress that we were sharing at my Grandparents in Connecticut.

I don't even care that I'm wearing my glasses in this one. It's so rare to get my mother to JUST LAUGH and this moment was just really pure and joyful.

Holding babies Caden and Jack and smelling that crazy and intoxicating baby smell coming off the heat of their fuzzy little heads.

Venus Flytraps

Remembering what it’s like to be listened to; truly listened to

Homemade Margaritas

Rubbing my best girl’s pregnant buddha belly and being heartbroken that I couldn’t be more involved in the process of the first child born to our small clique.

Martin Van Buren!  And the psycho ninja turkey on the Taconic. “What the fuck is GOING ON RIGHT NOW?!”

None of those moments would have been close to as funny without the original MVB: T.K.

Desire denied

Recovering Love

I know that the addition of pictures makes it obvious that this post took a bit longer than 5 minutes, but I swear, that all the text (except for this epilogue) was completed in the alotted time.  I simply thought that this entry could benefit from some visual aids.

3 thoughts on “5 Minutes

  1. Love the visual aids, AND that most of the moments involved drinking- some of the best ones do;) Great list!

    ps- I totatlly included a blurry pic in a recent post and wanted to pass it off as artsy, but really, my camera was just dying. and the photographer sucked.

Leave a Reply

