Try

The Prompt:

What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it? (Author: Kaileen Elise)

I don’t have anything witty for you today, dear reader.  The answer to this question is a straightforward one.  It’s something I’ve given a lot of thought to prior to reading today’s prompt, and it’s something that I think is high time I addressed in my life.  It’s the only possible answer I could have given today and it’s on constant repeat in my inner monologue.

I want to find a job that is personally fulfilling AND financially rewarding.

Look, I’m a smart cookie.  I’m business savvy and decently educated.  I’ve got two aptly named B.S.s; one in English Literature and one in Hotel/Restaurant Management.  I wasn’t long out of college, working in a hotel as a Director of Revenue Management when I discovered that the time I spent on that degree was totally wasted…because I hated it.  And so I turned to my English degree.  But what the hell do you do with a degree in English?!  So when the Navy moved my husband and I out to the PNW, I said “NEVER AGAIN” to hotels and signed on with a temp agency.

That was fun for a while, and they placed me at the front desk of a parking company.  At the end of my contract with the temp agency, the company hired me on as an area manager in what I consider to be my first “big girl” job.  I spent four years with that company, discovering that I had an acuity for operations and problem solving.  I was outspoken and brash, and, to speak frankly, did the shit out of that job.  Unfortunately, running between 75 and 115 parking lots in Seattle WAS NOT rewarding in any capacity.  I loved the people I worked with, but hated the company.  And, even more importantly, hated the fact that parking, as an industry, is TOTALLY NOT IMPORTANT.  A lesson in capitalism? Absolutely.  A schooling on lead hunting, customer/landlord relations, expense management and firefighting/problem-solving? Definitely.  But food for the soul?  Intellectually stimulating?  Gee-I-Can’t-Wait-To-Go-To-Work-In-The-Morning fulfilling?  Not in the fucking least.

A two month hiatus over the summer and a number of consecutive months of return (doing nothing productive, mind you) have me HERE.  Or, as seems more fitting, NOWHERE.  I am unemployed, in the center of an area that humorously calls itself the Tri-Cities (we’re looking at a total population of about 250, 000–which is deceiving in itself because what you’re looking at is basically a sprawled out, suburban area with NO URBAN COUNTERPART) and have no earthly idea what the hell it is that I’m MEANT to do.  But, instead of seeing it as a cracked, half-empty glass of warm Coors Light, I’m taking a chance and seeing it through beer-goggles as a half poured pint of ice cold pale ale.

And so, in 2011, I’m going to radically change the way I usually do things.  I’m going to TRY some stuff out and walk away from it if it’s not what I was looking for.  I’m going to apply to anything and everything that strikes my fancy with an eye especially for those things that challenge me, make me a better person, and mean something to the world around me.  I’m going to try to use that English degree in some capacity.  I’m going to try to put myself on a path that, down the line, won’t mean I wasted years on a hateful slog.  I’m going to try and remember that the retirement fund that has driven me thus far won’t mean anything if I look back and realize that the money I worked for meant selling my soul.

What I’m going to do is try and be that smart-assed and successful bohemian girl I pictured as I was drinking celebratory beers with friends for college graduation.  I’m going to try and believe that it isn’t too late.

16 thoughts on “Try

    • In actuality, I should have started this blog when I worked for that company. Oh the stories I could tell. As far as sexy….you WOULD be surprised at the amount of nudity and sex you encounter on parking lots in Seattle….*shudder*

  1. I can totally relate on all counts. This is only the third or fourth time I’ve found my way back to your site, but I really dig your writing. In fact, I REALLY dig your writing – as much as any I’ve discovered thus far during Reverb 10. Whatever you decide to do, if you have an opportunity to utilize your writing skills/talent, I’m sure you will kick some serious ass. In any event, it’s definitely not too late. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

