Soul Food

The Prompt:

What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul? (Author: Elise Marie Collins)

What: Ricotta filled (I don’t eat the chocolate ones….they’re too sweet and reserved for my dad and husband) mini cannoli from San Remo’s Bakery in Berlin, CT

Why they’re better than your prompt answer: Filled to order for each customer, these hand-rolled and piped cannoli are just the right size to be eaten en masse without guilt.  The smooth, semi-sweet ricotta filling is just sugary enough to satisfy the craving without being cloying.  You can’t find cannoli like this ANYWHERE ELSE (and believe me, I’ve tried!).  They’re little bites of heavenly, dessert perfection, served across glass cases by their family to yours.  *kisses all five of her fingers in a pantomime of “De-lish!”*

The best cannoli EVER.

A Christmas and Easter staple, no trip to my grandparents’ house is complete without a detour to San Remo’s.  In the time it takes for them to fill your dozen cannoli, you’ve already decided that you also ABSOLUTELY MUST HAVE a pound of ricciarelli, and maybe some chruscik, and, while you’re at it, a half dozen pizelles for ice cream later.

You’re damn right I made time to stop at San Remo’s while I was visiting family over the summer.  There’s something about these tiny pastries that makes you forget everything else with just that first little bit.  Stop in, have a small slice of fresh calzone, and finish it off with two or three of these culinary wonders.  I can’t think of anything better.

12 thoughts on “Soul Food

  1. Ok, I really need to try cannolis again! I’ve never liked them but I’m starting to think I just haven’t had a good one (which is likely since only once have I had them from a bakery; the other times they were made by my boarding school cafeteria…).

    • I do not know where you’re from, but it’s very hard to find any at all, let alone ones of quality on the west coast. Your best bet are the cannoli in Italian neighborhoods on the east coast…mostly New England. Of course, if you can actually GET to San Remo’s, DO IT. I promise you won’t regret it.

      • I’m currently stuck in the midwest. >< But I'm on the east coast occasionally and I'll keep my eye out for them when I'm there!

        Though there is an Italian neighborhood around here, so I'll do some hunting and see if there's a good bakery. 🙂

    • Ricciarelli-Almond cookies (sometimes, if you’re really lucky, you can get the ones they spike with Ameretto before they’re sold out.) Crispy on the outside, a bit chewy in the middle.
      Chruscik-Angels’ wings. Crispy fried dough. (this is actually Polish, but who’s counting?)

  2. I have only ever had cannoli filled-to-order once before, in a little place on the North Side of Pittsburgh that no longer exists. Everywhere else, they’re sitting there just… getting gloppy. Wrong. This is definitely a better answer than anything I would have come up with if I had made it this far through the prompts.

Leave a Reply

